Kindly note that this will remove all current router configurations and a reset will return it to its default settings. 


*A reset is different from a reboot. A reboot is achieved by turning the device off and on again. On the other hand, a factory reset brings the router back to factory defaults. Furthermore, if someone changed the settings on your router, those settings will be erased. The router will return to its original state with the original wireless password and SSID (wireless name). It may also remove additional devices from the network if the name or password is changed. The original wireless name and password are labelled under the router.


A factory reset can be done in two ways:


Physical factory reset

  1. Find a small hole behind the router. You may find the word reset written underneath. 
  2. Use the edge of a paperclip or pin to push and hold for 15 seconds before releasing.
  3. The router lights will flash when the router begins to factory reset.
  4. This process can take a couple of minutes and once the lights turn solid again, reconnect your devices.


Reset through your routers GUI (Graphical user interface)

Find your router's IP address. Typically, it is found underneath the router along with the username and password. If not, you can follow the steps below from your laptop while connecting to your router with an ethernet cable.


  1. Open your command prompt (type cmd, or use the command prompt in the windows search box) 
  2. Type ipconfig into the black window and press enter
  3. Look through the results and find your default gateway, otherwise known as your router's IP address.
  4. Open your web browser and put the IP address in the search bar.
  5. It will bring you to a login screen where you can enter your username and password. Look for this information under your router.
  6. You need to go through the router interface and find one of these options Administration, Maintenance, or Utilities. These headings will vary depending on your router. Once you click on one of these, you will need to find the subcategory called factory defaults or factory reset.
  7. Once found, click the factory reset option. The router will then proceed to a factory reset.
  8. This process can take a couple of minutes, and once the lights turn solid, you can reconnect your devices.